There are 28 states and 8 Union territories in the country. Union Territories are administered by the President through an Administrator appointed by him/her.

What are the union territories of India and their capitals?

Union TerritoriesTheir capital
Andaman and Nicobar IslandsPort Blair
Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman & DiuDaman
National Capital Territory of DelhiDelhi
Jammu & KashmirSummer – SrinagarWinter – Jammu

What is a union territory?

A union territory is a type of administrative division in India. It is similar to a state, but the President of India directly appoints the Governor of a union territory, and the President also has the power to make laws for the union territory. Each union territory has its own capital city and is governed by a Chief Minister and a Council of Ministers, just like a state.

What are the specialties of union territories?

Each union territory in India has its own unique characteristics and features. Here are a few examples:

  • Andaman and Nicobar Islands: This union territory is made up of a group of islands in the Bay of Bengal. It is known for its beautiful beaches and coral reefs, which make it a popular destination for tourists.
  • Chandigarh: This union territory is the capital of both Punjab and Haryana states. It is known for its modern architecture and urban planning, and is often referred to as a “city of lakes.”
  • Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu: These two small union territories are located in western India and are known for their Portuguese colonial architecture and cultural influences.
  • Lakshadweep: This union territory is made up of a group of small islands in the Arabian Sea. It is known for its pristine beaches and coral reefs and is a popular destination for water sports and diving.
  • National Capital Territory of Delhi: Delhi is the capital city of India and is known for its rich history and cultural diversity. It is home to many historical landmarks and is a major center of business and politics in the country.
  • Jammu and Kashmir: This union territory is located in the Himalayan mountain range and is known for its natural beauty, including snow-capped mountains, forests, and lakes.
  • Ladakh: This union territory is located in the northernmost part of India and is known for its rugged, mountainous terrain and Buddhist monasteries.
  • Puducherry: This union territory, also known as Pondicherry, is located on the Bay of Bengal and is known for its French colonial architecture and cultural influences.

What benefits do union territories get?

Union territories in India receive several benefits from the central government, including financial assistance for development and infrastructure projects, and support for the provision of public services such as education, healthcare, and transportation. The central government also provides financial assistance to union territories to help them meet their administrative and development expenses. In addition, union territories are represented in the Indian Parliament and have representation in the Rajya Sabha (upper house) and the Lok Sabha (lower house). Union territories also have their own legislative assemblies and councils of ministers, just like states, which gives them some degree of autonomy in the administration and governance of their territories.

By sophia

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *